Thanks, PurpleCat. I have to admit, I have concerns about going to the allergist and being told I don't actually react to something that I do react to. It's all so hazy.
That's good advice, spacecanada. I've been sticking with fruit, veggies, and dairy, mostly. Made the mistake of having some plain pasta with an alfredo sauce that didn't have nuts or seeds or glycerin or anything that makes me burst into hives and swollen lips. But it appears that annatto (which is the stuff that makes cheddar orange) comes from something that is either a seed or a nut, depending on the source. So I'm done with just about everything premade. Too many hidden sources. I'm worried about beans, since they can be cross-reactive. It's a good thing dairy and soy are fine for me. As a vegetarian, I don't know what else I'd do for protein.