Past Administrator (no longer active)
Posted: 09.18.2007 at 07:12:03
This list may not be comprehensive. Please feel free to post additions as you discover them.
artificial butter flavor (some)
BENADRYL (see below)*
casein (rennet casein)
caseinates (ammonium, calcium, hydrolyzed, magnesium, potassium, sodium)
cheese (any kind)
chewing gum � some gums (such as certain types of Trident) may contain Recaldent, a milk-derived ingredient
flavorings (or natural flavorings) -- can potentially contain dairy components**
goats milk and milk from other animals
Half & Half
high protein flour (possibly)**
hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)
Lactaid or Lacteeze milk
lactate** (sodium, potassium, ammonium, calcium, magnesium...although checking with the mfr. will reveal that these may not be milk-derived forms of lactate)
lactic acid** (produced by heating and fermenting carbohydrates in milk whey, potatoes, cornstarch or molasses� often, checking with the mfr. will reveal that it�s not a milk-derived form of lactic acid)
lactic acid starter culture** (see above)
Lactitol -- derived from lactose (milk sugar) � surprisingly, this is currently an ingredient in Benedryl Children�s FastMelt Tabs*
lactose-free milk formula
MARGARINE (almost all)
milk (delactosed, derivative, powder, protein, solids, malted, condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, low-fat, milk fat, non-fat, skimmed and goat's milk)
"Non dairy" substitutes (most have dairy components in them)
prescription and OTC medicines*
Recaldent (milk casein derivative used in some Trident gum)
reduced allergenicity milk formula
Sherbet (often contains dairy or dairy components)
Smoothies -- while many bottled/canned juices and pop are OK, smoothies are likely to contain either dairy or soy ingredients
Check vitamin labels carefully, as they contain a lot of ingredients plus fillers. Most vitamins seem to contain lactose.
Also, if there is a Kosher symbol 'D' on the packaging -- next to "K" or "U" -- that is a sign that the product may have dairy components in it. Note: the lack of a D next to the Kosher symbol does not necessarily mean that the product is dairy-free.
**NOTE about Benadryl: as of 3/09 the Children's FASTMELT tabs do appear to be milk-free. However, the capsules do contain lactose monohydrate (a sugar derived from milk). Check them all carefully before using!
**check origin with mfr. before using
« Last Edited by booandbrimom 03.26.2009 at 05:05:34 »