login
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Carmex  (Read 3805 times)

Description:

Offline Princess Cheese

• The Princess of Cheese
Carmex
« on: October 23, 2013, 11:10:21 PM »
'Tis the season for chapped lips.. anyone use Carmex?  I skimmed the ingredients on the website, nothing stood out..

PA/TNA
U.S.A. || Adult || PN/TNA  ||
I also avoid fish and shellfish. 

Mommy to 5 amazing kids!! :)
2 girls & 3 boys <3

Offline starlight

Re: Carmex
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 08:19:25 AM »
I've been using it every 2 hours for about 15 years. That said, I've been using it every 2 hours for 15 years. There's a website out there about Carmex addiction and it sounds like a joke, but it's not. I stop using it and my lips immediately dry out and get red and inflammed. It's like your lips forget how to make their own moisture. Stick with something like vaseline or blistex if you can. Avoid Bonnie Bell, I developed a sensitivity to that after using it for a while (weeping excema on the lips is NOT a good time). Don't use anything mentholated either, same problems.

Offline YouKnowWho

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 09:31:21 AM »
Plain old Vaseline works best.  We buy the tubes and squeeze amount needed onto a finger to wipe our lips.

Many people swear by coconut oil.

And drinking more water (the latter I am guilty of not doing).

If I remember correctly, Carmex is not safe for those with an aspirin allergy?  Has similar ingredients.  I just remembered the burning sensation.

DS1 - Wheat, rye, barley and egg
DS2 - peanuts
DD -  tree nuts, soy and sunflower
Me - bananas, eggplant, many drugs
Southeast USA

twinturbo

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2013, 09:39:15 AM »