login
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: medic alert bracelets : do you use one?  (Read 6240 times)

Description:

Offline AdminCM

• Administrator

Offline AdminCM

• Administrator
Re: medic alert bracelets : do you use one?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 06:48:22 PM »
This is one of the most striking posts ever on the subject of medic-alert bracelets:

usc1972 Posted: 06/14/09 at 08:36 pm   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I work as an ER nurse in a Level 1 trauma center in a fairly major city. I don't have any food allergies personally, but follow this, and some other health related boards to read patient perspectives. That said, I would like to offer my unsolicited, but hopefully helpful, advice on medic alert jewelery.

Overall, I think they are a fantastic idea. Not only do they provide information about children who are too young to explain for themselves, but they can also give medics and doctors a starting point when someone wearing one is found unresponsive.

The trend that I disagree with is their "fashionization." Medic alert bracelets work because they stand out and are obvious in nature. Wrist bands, beaded jewelery, watches with medic alert face plates or band links, shoe tags and other such "disguises" will likely go unnoticed.