Survey re safety of prepared foods.

Started by SilverLining, February 04, 2015, 01:33:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SilverLining

We have been asked to post a link to an anonymous survey by a PhD grad and a PhD candidate from Virginia Tech. They are conducting a survey regarding people with food allergies and their means of determining if a prepared food is "safe" for them or not.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/RYV5FWK

PurpleCat

Anna Champion

I am a current PhD graduate and I am conducting the survey. We are not trying to remain anonymous, the survey is anonymous so people taking the survey do not have to identify themselves if they don't want to!

guess

I believe her point is why is it missing the IRB basics for human test subjects such as to guarantee informed consent, any compensation implied or not given, the approval, the ability to opt out, etc. Has this received IRB approval?  If so please share.

SilverLining

Sorry. I worded it, and apparently poorly.  :hiding:

Personally, I appreciate that those who fill in the survey can remain anonymous. :)

guess

A couple of items, ones that I'm not hanging around for.  Sorry.  Schedule.

Candidate or graduate?  Are you currently working under academic pursuits through the university as part of your program or at the behest of the university because a professor of yours has been contracted out by said uni to perform market research, and as a graduate assistant you are turning the work over? 

Have you graduated (not ABD but defended, graduated) and now doing this work in the employ of a for profit operation?

Who is we?  And, why?  I'd personally be satisfied with the IRB# although that would not necessarily meet the standard of informed consent for everyone.

Here's a clear example from another graduate student who properly disclosed for the purposes of informed consent. 

Quote from: lam1498 on November 21, 2013, 02:45:01 PM
Hello Peanut allergic parents,