imagelogin
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Sudden reaction to deodorant after long-term use?  (Read 1277 times)

Description: terrible eczema

Offline Ciel

Sudden reaction to deodorant after long-term use?
« on: January 28, 2021, 11:04:38 AM »
I have been using the same kind of deodorant for more than two years, and using this particular jar for at least two months. All of a sudden I have raging eczema under both arms that started out of nowhere about three weeks ago. I haven’t been using the deodorant but it’s still getting worse instead of better and the itching is making me crazy and keeping me awake.

I really want this to go away, and I want to be able to wear deodorant and not-smell-bad again. It’s just deodorant, not antiperspirant.

Can anyone relate? What did you do? Is it safe to put steroid creams in the armpits? It’s so hard to get an appointment with my doctor during lockdown-times.

I’ve tried to dry it out by dabbing with rubbing alcohol...doesn’t help. Moisturizer lotion isn’t helping. I feel like I just sweat it off. Help.

Offline GoingNuts

Re: Sudden reaction to deodorant after long-term use?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2021, 11:31:28 AM »
This happened to me last summer, and it turned out not to be the deodorant itself, but a reaction to my own perspiration.  I used an antifungal cornstarch powder under my arms for a week or so, and it cleared up.  I got the CVS brand - not sure if you have CVS in the Canadalands.

Anyhoo, the itching just about drove me mad.  The powder was the only thing that helped. 

Hope you get some quick relief!  :grouphug:
"Speak out against the madness" - David Crosby
N.E. US

Offline Ciel

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2021, 12:03:16 PM »