login
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Schools need bigger furnitire--so that they can accommodate obese students  (Read 31001 times)

Description:

Offline CMdeux

• Global Moderator
  • -- but sometimes the voices have good ideas!
Funny.  That's what I weighed when I graduated from college, Mfamom.  I was definitely NOT "obese."

Resistance isn't futile.  It's voltage divided by current. 

Western U.S.

Offline kouturekat

• formerly ryansmom
2 days in a row out doing errands and saw 2 small girls about 3 or 4 obviously too plump and overweight.  That's what kills me.  A former male friend of mine has a daughter now in 1st grade.  Last year she was 130 lbs as a 5-year old in Kindergarten.  No, she is not tall AND I knew her when she was a year old and of an almost normal weight.  Slightly heavier than average, but that's it.  She is short to average in height.

Now think about it.  We had a little girl in Kindergarten who weighs more than me!  Do I think the parents are neglectful based upon what I knew and saw?  Yes, I do.  The older sister of this girl weighed about 180 last year as a 6th grader at about 5'2".   And they're son as a 4th grader weighed more than Ryan who was in 8th grade.   Their personal lives were a mess, the kids were somewhat ignored, and they had to deal with hurtful comments from kids in school.  And the father says, "Oh, it doesn't bother her (his oldest).  She's tough."