FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Trader Joe's  (Read 6872 times)

Description: So, What do you think?

Offline GoingNuts

Trader Joe's
« on: April 23, 2012, 04:39:46 PM »
I know there was a thread like this awhile back, but it's been so long and information changes rapidly, so I thought I'd ask again.

A Trader Joe's opened near my office, and another one is opening even closer next year.  I was in there today getting cat treats (aka Kitty Crack) and saw some awesome stuff - Israeli Couscous, Tricolor Quinoa, Pita Crackers and Bistro Biscuits.  The labels read fine, but I have little experience with them so don't know how confident I can be in their labeling.  Is it consistent?

They were sampling a garlic hummus that just about made me swoon.  If it weren't for that pesky sesame...  >:(

ETA:  Also got General Tsao's Stir Fry Sauce - looks delish!
« Last Edit: April 23, 2012, 05:11:35 PM by GoingNuts »
"Speak out against the madness" - David Crosby
N.E. US

Offline CMdeux

• Global Moderator
  • -- but sometimes the voices have good ideas!
Re: Trader Joe's
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2012, 06:33:17 PM »
Unfortunately, you have to call if you need to know about shared lines.

Their labeling policies used to divulge that information as a matter of policy, but no more.  Just because the label doesn't say anything about cross-contamination, do NOT assume that this means there isn't any.

:-/
Resistance isn't futile.  It's voltage divided by current. 

Western U.S.

Offline GoingNuts

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2012, 07:10:36 PM »
Bugger.  I'll call tomorrow.

Hate that.  >:(
N.E. US

Offline nameless

« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2012, 08:47:51 PM »
Agree with CM --- the USED TO put EVERYTHING on the label. It was niiiiiiiiiiiiice :)