Pity party

Started by hk, May 21, 2012, 07:50:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hk

I am at a low point right now.  I've been managing dd's allergies pretty well for almost 6 years.  I'm long past that initial 'how am I ever going to manage all of these allergens' phase with her.  Still, as you all know, traveling and social events can be challenging.

Now I have been diagnosed with EE.  My doctor hasn't been very forthcoming with information and only offered a PPI for reflux as a solution.  That made things worse so I stopped taking it.  I did some research on my own and concluded that a 6 food elimination diet (wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, nuts and shellfish) was the best next step until I see the doctor again.  He told me to come back in June to discuss doing another endoscopy.  I've developed more difficulty swallowing in the past 10 days so I moved my appointment up to later this week.

I guess I'm mainly frustrated by not knowing enough to manage this effectively right now and the process of figuring it out seems incredibly difficult.  I'm having a hard time with food since wheat and dairy are some of the only things dd CAN eat.  Adding more allergens to this family was about the last thing I needed!  I'm scared it's never going to get figured out even though that's probably not realistic.   The idea of going on our summer vacation seems unfathomable right now.

Like I said, I'm at a low point.  I'll be fine once I know exactly what I need to do.  I just knew you would indulge me while I have a rare pity party.  Thanks for listening!

CMdeux

:grouphug: