imagelogin
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Latex & Latex fruit allergy (& almonds...)  (Read 32387 times)

Description:

Offline jennifer1

Latex & Latex fruit allergy (& almonds...)
« on: June 12, 2012, 08:48:44 AM »
Hi everyone
I recently went through allergy testing (skin test) because I've have a history of pretty obvious reaction to certain foods.  I've known for some time that I can't wear latex gloves at work (I'm a lab tech), but I didn't realize that banana, avocado, & kiwi are related to latex.  I tested fairly strongly positive for latex and banana and almonds.  They didn't have a test for avocado or kiwi, but my doctor said they are all related.
I also have celiac disease, so while not a true allergy, I can't eat gluten. 
For about the last 10 yrs if I eat banana, avocado, kiwi or almonds within 1/2 hr I'm doubled over with horrible stomach cramps and have diarrhea and sometimes break out into a cold sweat.  I used to react this way to eggs also, but since going gluten free I can eat eggs with no problems, so I assume it had something to do with the damage to my GI tract from celiac disease (also I tested negative to eggs).  About every 6 months or so I would try a banana again (my favorite fruit back when I could eat them), but I'd always get the same reaction.  Same with avocado if I had some guac or something.  Doubled over with stomach cramps in about 30min.  But, usually about 5-6 hours later I feel totally fine.