login
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: sesame allergy  (Read 9131 times)

Description:

Offline pastmiprim

sesame allergy
« on: January 17, 2013, 06:03:49 AM »
Does anyone have a sesame allergy?   I am new to this and don't know which foods to avoid.

Offline GoingNuts

Re: sesame allergy
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2013, 06:19:39 AM »
Welcome pastmiprim!

My 19 year old DS has had a sesame allergy since he was 4 or 5.   IMHO, this is the most irritating of his allergens, as sesame is quite widespread and isn't considered one of the "big 8" here in the U.S., so labeling is often lacking.  If you are in Canada, you may have an easier time avoiding it.

Basically you have to be extremely careful with baked goods, including basic bread, Asian foods and Middle Eastern foods.  Breaded products like breaded chicken or fish products are a risk as well.   Hummus, baba ganoush, and similar spreads are out; they contain tahini which is made from sesame.  I'm sure more will occur to me as the day goes on, but I haven't finished my tea yet so my brain isn't fully functional yet.  ;)

My DS seems to have a much higher threshold for sesame than some others here, so I hope they will chime in.  I'm quite sure my DS eats foods that are X contaminated from time to time, but others are much more sensitive so they will probably have better information.

How did you find out about your sesame allergy?  If you don't mind my asking, how old are you?  What country are you in?  We have members here from several countries, so if you need country-specific information just let us know and maybe someone can be of assistance.

Good luck to you - glad you found us!
"Speak out against the madness" - David Crosby
N.E. US

Offline CMdeux

• Global Moderator