Food Allergy Support is now on Twitter. Follow us @FASupport. You may also follow our Tweets in our new global footer at the bottom of the page here at FAS!

FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Specific Food Allergies > Milk Allergy

Names for milk ingredients

(1/2) > >>

Names for milk ingredients

admin rebekahc:
Former admin
Past Administrator (no longer active)
Posted: 09.18.2007 at 07:12:03     

This list may not be comprehensive. Please feel free to post additions as you discover them.

artificial butter flavor (some)
BENADRYL (see below)*
butter fat
butter oil
casein (rennet casein)
caseinates (ammonium, calcium, hydrolyzed, magnesium, potassium, sodium)
cheese (any kind)
chewing gum � some gums (such as certain types of Trident) may contain Recaldent, a milk-derived ingredient
cottage cheese
cream cheese
flavorings (or natural flavorings) -- can potentially contain dairy components**
goats milk and milk from other animals
Half & Half
high protein flour (possibly)**
hydrolysates (casein, milk protein, protein, whey, whey protein)
ice cream
ice milk
Lactaid or Lacteeze milk
lactate** (sodium, potassium, ammonium, calcium, magnesium...although checking with the mfr. will reveal that these may not be milk-derived forms of lactate)
lactic acid** (produced by heating and fermenting carbohydrates in milk whey, potatoes, cornstarch or molasses� often, checking with the mfr. will reveal that it�s not a milk-derived form of lactic acid)
lactic acid starter culture** (see above)
Lactitol -- derived from lactose (milk sugar) � surprisingly, this is currently an ingredient in Benedryl Children�s FastMelt Tabs*
lactose-free milk formula
lactylate (calcium)
MARGARINE (almost all)
milk (delactosed, derivative, powder, protein, solids, malted, condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, low-fat, milk fat, non-fat, skimmed and goat's milk)
"Non dairy" substitutes (most have dairy components in them)
prescription and OTC medicines*
Recaldent (milk casein derivative used in some Trident gum)
reduced allergenicity milk formula
Rennet casein
Sherbet (often contains dairy or dairy components)
Smoothies -- while many bottled/canned juices and pop are OK, smoothies are likely to contain either dairy or soy ingredients
sour cream
whey, wheylite

Check vitamin labels carefully, as they contain a lot of ingredients plus fillers. Most vitamins seem to contain lactose.

Also, if there is a Kosher symbol 'D' on the packaging -- next to "K" or "U" -- that is a sign that the product may have dairy components in it. Note: the lack of a D next to the Kosher symbol does not necessarily mean that the product is dairy-free.

**NOTE about Benadryl: as of 3/09 the Children's FASTMELT tabs do appear to be milk-free. However, the capsules do contain lactose monohydrate (a sugar derived from milk). Check them all carefully before using!

**check origin with mfr. before using

« Last Edited by booandbrimom 03.26.2009 at 05:05:34 »

admin rebekahc:
Posted: 07.23.2008 at 11:33:15       

This isn't comprehensive but it's printable 


Thank you to Conference Sponsors Spokane FASN, Allerbling, Allergy Monkey, Coconut Bliss, Dey the makers of EpiPen, Bastyr Center, Medic Alert, Navan Foods and Microsoft Employee Giving Programs!!

adult son: severe allergies to milk, egg, peanut, tree nuts, coconut, shellfish, mollusks. Eczema, 

admin rebekahc:
Posted: 10.02.2009 at 02:37:45       

Learned today that Simplesse® contains milk and/or egg protein. Surprise!

admin rebekahc:
Posted: 05.18.2010 at 07:35:42       

Liquid Certo Pectin containes dairy.

But the Crystals Certo Pectin is safe.

Pectin is used for making homemade jams, jellies & perhaps other homemade products. 

DS - Dairy, Egg, PN, TN, Drug allergies



[0] Message Index

[#] Next page


Go to full version