Infant baked milk challenge

Started by hithisisme, October 08, 2013, 02:02:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hithisisme

My DS is currently 7 1/2 mos old.  He gets contact hives from dairy/egg and tested positive on a skin prick test to both plus almonds.  Saw two allergists...first one said to come back a 1 year to repeat the skin test for comparison.  The second said to come back in Nov. for a baked milk challenge.  Does barely 9 months old seem too young for a baked challenge? What is the  earliest age you had this completed?

my3guys

I would say yes it seems too young for a baked milk challenge, but I'm not a doctor or allergist...so take my opinion for what it's worth.

Personally, I would want my child older, being able to communicate symptoms, handle chewing/swallowing more appropriately before risking a reaction through a challenge.

FWIW, Mt. Sinai requested children be 4 years old to participate in their baked milk study.  I'm not sure how they arrived at those parameters though.

twinturbo

I went through a (failed) milk challenge with a 1 year old infant.

They cannot communicate early symptoms so realistically there is no way a clinician can truly measure all symptoms for clean results. A gut pain would manifest as crying, an itchy tongue would be lip smacking at best. They just keep shoving the allergen dose in until something outer skin related or vomiting/diarrhea, or respiratory shows up.

hithisisme

What was fed to your child during the challenge?  If you could do it over, would you have waited?

lakeswimr

Has your child ever had any dairy?  If so, what was the reaction?

CMdeux

We challenged dairy at 12mo.

My DD wasn't most 12mo kids-- she was quite communicative and self-aware-- but even so, I'd NOT recommend this to most people.

We did it to "clear" + RAST results that didn't match a - SPT.  She also didn't have any anaphylaxis history and we hadn't been avoiding traces, though...