FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: 504 index - Dealing with Obstacles and School Shenanigans  (Read 6941 times)

Description:

Offline LinksEtc

504 index - Dealing with Obstacles and School Shenanigans
« on: January 11, 2014, 06:17:09 AM »
Please don't post in this thread  :heart:

If you have suggestions for the index threads, please post them in this other thread:
504 index - Suggestions

---------------------------------------

504 index - 504 Plan Basics

The stuff in this thread is not advice & I'm not an expert.  I'm just summarizing some of the general 504 process steps that have worked for many of us at FAS.  If you need professional advice, please seek that out from a lawyer, doctor, etc.

-------------------

Re: Docs helping patients to surf the internet

"Playing Lawyer Online – Be Wary of Non-Lawyers Bearing Legal Advice"
http://allergylawproject.com/2015/09/21/playing-lawyer-online-be-wary-of-non-lawyers-bearing-legal-advice/

---

"Current Topics in Food Allergy Law"
http://community.kidswithfoodallergies.org/blog/current-topics-in-food-allergy-law-video-and-resources

Kids With Food Allergies (KFA), a division of the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America, hosted a webinar on December 1, 2015 called Current Topics in Food Allergy Law. Our webinar featured the Allergy Law Project.

« Last Edit: December 11, 2015, 11:22:53 AM by LinksEtc »

Offline LinksEtc

Re: 504 index - Dealing with Obstacles and School Shenanigans
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2014, 06:17:34 AM »
Some issues addressed in this thread:

1. School moving very slowly.

2. School saying an accommodation request is not "reasonable".

3. DS/DD has to learn to live in the "real world".

4. Told that some accommodations are "off the table" before even writing the plan.