post lunch hand washing at school

Started by evergreenmom, March 15, 2014, 06:31:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

evergreenmom

My five year old son is allergic to peanuts. He is in all day kindergarten. In September while putting together an "emergency care plan" with the school nurse I requested he and his classmates wash their hands before and after lunch to minimize potential of peanut exposure as the school is not nut free. Nurse and principal agreed and put it in his ECP. Teacher followed through about three times and then blew it off and excuse was it took too much time.

I have been fighting this uphill battle for six months now. Both my sons pediatrician and his allergist have written letters to the school regarding this issue to no avail. The peds letter simply stated students wash hands after lunch- the principal called her and asked that she change wording of not to read teacher shall encourage students to wash hands after lunch. Since that time according to my son no one has been encouraged in any way to wash their hands after lunch! The school nurse even lied to the allergist and said "but we are following everything in the ECP"!!! It's like they just can't fathom what my problem is!!! I mean peanut allergic five year old surrounded by masses of peanut eaters on a daily basis what could my problem possibly be???