login
Food Allergy Support is now on Twitter. Follow us @FASupport. You may also follow our Tweets in our new global footer at the bottom of the page here at FAS!

FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Buckwheat is not wheat - and it is gluten free  (Read 1361 times)

Description:

guess

  • Guest
Buckwheat is not wheat - and it is gluten free
« on: November 16, 2014, 01:13:19 PM »
http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/theglutenfreediet/qt/BuckwheatQT.htm

Quote
Despite its name, buckwheat is not wheat. Itís gluten-free... Buckwheat and wheat are from completely different botanical families. Buckwheat seeds are technically the fruit of a plant called Fagopyrum esculentum.

guess

  • Guest
Re: Buckwheat is not wheat - and it is gluten free
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 01:13:51 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckwheat

Quote
Despite the name, buckwheat is not related to wheat, as it is not a grass. Instead, buckwheat is related to sorrel, knotweed, and rhubarb.