login
FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Buckwheat is not wheat - and it is gluten free  (Read 3640 times)

Description:

guess

  • Guest
Buckwheat is not wheat - and it is gluten free
« on: November 16, 2014, 01:13:19 PM »
http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/theglutenfreediet/qt/BuckwheatQT.htm

Quote
Despite its name, buckwheat is not wheat. Itís gluten-free... Buckwheat and wheat are from completely different botanical families. Buckwheat seeds are technically the fruit of a plant called Fagopyrum esculentum.

guess

  • Guest
Re: Buckwheat is not wheat - and it is gluten free
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 01:13:51 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckwheat

Quote
Despite the name, buckwheat is not related to wheat, as it is not a grass. Instead, buckwheat is related to sorrel, knotweed, and rhubarb.