Boy Reacts to Powerade

Started by maeve, June 11, 2013, 01:14:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maeve

"Oh, I'm such an unholy mess of a girl."

USA-Virginia
DD allergic to peanuts, tree nuts, and egg; OAS to cantaloupe and cucumber

Jessica

It drives me crazy that refined oils are exempt because "most" people don't react to them. Some do, clearly, so don't these people matter? Nothing should be exempt when it comes to a life threatening food allergy.
USA
DD18-PA/TNA
DD16 and DS14-NKA

GoingNuts

Ditto. 

Ad what drives me even crazier is that DS has read those statements as well and tried to argue with me that we should eat @ a local Burger joint that opened even though they cook with peanut oil, because after all, it is highly refined.  ~)

As then he tries to explain the differences between cold pressed and refined oils to me, as if I had never heard this shocking news.  :crazy:
"Speak out against the madness" - David Crosby
N.E. US

CMdeux

I'm so lucky that I'm a chemist.  Zero isn't "zero."  Ever.

I'm further fortunate in my spouse, also a chemist who understands this point and did WAY before food allergies entered our lives in a big way with DD.

It's all about partitioning during extraction-- and that is ALWAYS fractional.  <sigh>

Just the same, this particular incident I have to wonder if there wasn't some other source of contamination at work here-- because people who react to levels this low on a regular basis very definitely do NOT live normally, and they also don't tend to try new things when out and about like this.  I wonder if this youngster washed his hands VERY thoroughly-- and washed down the bottle prior to consumption.  Our experience (having a DD with this kind of threshold) is that both of those things are far more frequently factors in major reactions than ultratrace contamination (which is what this would have been).

Resistance isn't futile.  It's voltage divided by current. 

Western U.S.

twinturbo