FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Working with groups = FOOD  (Read 2798 times)

Description:

Offline CMdeux

• Global Moderator
  • -- but sometimes the voices have good ideas!
Working with groups = FOOD
« on: November 05, 2014, 09:27:06 PM »
Okay-- with that stated, what tips and tricks do you have for dealing with this?

DD's and mine include suggesting times/locations where food would be weird or awkward....

Oh, let's meet at the library at about 10, okay?

OR-- to meet in a location where the food is somehow controlled in a larger sense--

Oh, hey-- {local pizzeria} is a good meeting spot-- the kids can play and we can talk (Pizzeria being peanut and mostly egg-free)

This is a real mine-field for DD as a college student, I must say.   She would find it quite useful to work with a large group right now on homework sets, but there is almost no way for her to, realistically.  It's to the point that I am almost wondering if she should tackle the issue with disability services.  (Working solo has a direct impact on her b/c of the homework system that the class uses in one class).

What suggestions have others used as a way around the food saturation inherent in social and just social-ish activities like that?
Resistance isn't futile.  It's voltage divided by current. 

Western U.S.

Offline LaurensMom

Re: Working with groups = FOOD
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2014, 09:55:42 PM »
Soapbox before I answer...DDs professor handing out extra Halloween candy which was...(drumroll)...Recees.  Really? In college? He was tryirng to be nice, and I'll give him that, but this just really threw me. She had to deal with this during class.