FAS has upgraded our forum security. Some members may need to log in again. If you are unable to remember your login information, please email food.allergy.supt@flash.net and we will help you get back in. Thanks for your patience!

Author Topic: Feelings/Experiences about Informing resturants about your allergies  (Read 8767 times)

Description: design student seeking info for project

Offline Baginden

Hello, I am a senior Industrial design student at the Massachusetts College of Art and Design and I am allergic to peanuts and tree nuts.  For my degree project I am trying to design a system to help empower food allergy sufferers while dining out.  In my own experience I have felt embarrassed informing the waitstaff about my allergy because of the stigma that something is wrong with me.  When ever I would go out to eat with friends and I do tell the waitstaff about my allergy, I am then interrogated about what I can eat and what I'm "missing out on."  Other times I have been asked to leave certain establishments because they could not accommodate my allergy, or the waitstaff has belittled my life threatening allergy.

It would be incredibly helpful if you could tell me if you have had similar experiences or feelings.  Any stories would be great.  I'm hoping to design a solution that will work for all food allergies, not just mine, so I need some feed back.  Please be as honest as you can be and remember that I am doing this research to help make your lives easier.

Thank you so much

Offline rebekahc

• Global Moderator
Re: Feelings/Experiences about Informing resturants about your allergies
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 04:06:27 PM »
There's already a solution (or at least as close as you're gonna get) - chef cards.
TX - USA
DS - peanut, tree nut, milk, eggs, corn, soy, several meds, many environmentals. Finally back on Xolair!
DD - mystery anaphylaxis, shellfish.
DH - banana/avocado, aspirin.  Asthma.